Public Council

Yesh Din's Public Council functions as an advisory board, overseeing Yesh Din activities and lending its expertise and guidance on all matters related to strategic organizational decisions, legal issues or correspondence with the press, the public or the upper echelons of the Israeli Defence establishment.

The Public Council is comprised of well-known public figures, former holders of public office and distinguished members of civil society.

Dan Bavly | Author, journalist, former Executive Partner of Bavly Millner & Co. Former chairman of the Jewish-Arab Center in the University of Haifa.

Michael Ben Yair | Former Attorney General of the State of Israel and Supreme Court Acting Justice.

Ruth Cheshin | Co-founder and President Emeritus of the Jerusalem Foundation, Chairman of Mishkenot Sha'ananim

Yehudit Karp | Lawyer, former Deputy Attorney General of Israel and Head of the Department of Criminal and Public Law Legislation at the Ministry of Justice. Former vice president and member of the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child.

Paul Kedar, Colonel (Ret.) | Former Israeli consul general in New York, head of the Ministry of Defense delegation to Europe and IDF attaché to Turkey. In 2010 Kedar and his wife Ruthie were honored with the Emil Grunzweig Human Rights Award by the Association for Civil Rights in Israel (ACRI) for their work with Yesh Din.

Prof. Uzy Smilansky |  Emeritus Professor of Physics at the Weizmann Institute of Science. Visiting Professor at the Institute of Archaeology at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem.

Joshua Sobol | Israeli playwright, writer, and director at theatres in Israel and abroad.

Zeev Sternhell | Israeli historian and one of the world's leading experts on Fascism. Sternhell headed the Department of Political Science at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and writes for the Israeli newspaper, Haaretz. In 2008, Sternhell was awarded the Israel Prize for Political Science.

Yair Rotlevy - Industrialist. Board member of several public companies and organizations for social change. 

Akiva Eldar | Journalist, author and publicist. Former member of the Haaretz editorial board and current political commentator for Al-Monitor.

Prof. Naomi Chazan | Professor (emerita) of Political Science at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem and Dean of the School of Government and Society at the Academic College of Tel Aviv-Yafo. Served as a Knesset member for Meretz and president of the New Israel Fund.

Dani Karavan | Sculptor, Israel Prize laureate 1977, named by UNESCO as an Artist for Peace, and winner of Japan’s “Praemium Imperiale.”

Prof. Orna Ben-Naftali | The Emile Zola Chair for Human Rights at the Striks School of Law at the College of Management – Academic Studies (COMAS) and its former Dean. She served at the UN Peacekeeping Operations Department in New York. Her fields of research are humanitarian international law with a focus on occupation law and culture.


Design by Dov Kroll   |   Site Production by Shir Harel